The 2016 crop of Heisman Trophy finalists were announced last night in New York.  For LSU fans you won't see Leonard Fournette's name on the list.

The list consists of three quarterbacks, one linebacker and one wide receiver.  The five finalists for this years Heisman Trophy are:

  • Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson
  • Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson
  • Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield
  • Oklahoma receiver Dede Westbrook
  • Michigan linebacker Jabrill Peppers

One of the first this year for one school football program is Louisville.  Lamar Jackson is first Heisman finalist in Louisville school history.  Don't forget LSU will have to take on Louisville New Years Eve in the Citrus bowl and the defense will have to prepare for the Heisman Trophy finalist.

Last year the trophy went to Alabama running back Derrick Henry who now plays for the Tennessee Titans in the NFL.

The 2016 Heisman Trophy ceremony will be this  Saturday, Dec.10 in New York. The ceremony begins at 7:00 p.m. and will be televised on ESPN.