The elections are over and today the Calcasieu Parish Police Jurors were sworn into office.

There are a couple of new comers and some starting their 4th and 5th terms.

Here is the official word from the Calcasieu Parish Police Jury:

The Calcasieu Parish Police Jury was officially sworn in at a special meeting held this morning in the Government Building.  All Jurors representing 15 districts throughout Calcasieu Parish will serve their term from January, 2012 to January, 2016. Three Jurors are serving their first term on the Police Jury. They are: James Mayo, representing District 2, Nic Hunter, representing District 5, and Ray Taylor, representing District 12. Tony Guillory, who will represent District 4, previously served on the Police Jury from 2005-2008.

Once all Jurors were sworn in, the first official business conducted was the election of officers for 2012. Jurors elected Les Farnum as President for 2012 and Dennis Scott as Vice-President, both by acclamation.  Mr. Farnum succeeds Guy Brame, and Mr. Scott succeeds Shannon Spell.

Mr. Farnum stated that he was honored to be selected by his colleagues as President, and mentioned some key goals for the Police Jury in 2012.  They include: Two projects currently underway, the opening of the SEED Center and the Frontage Road south of I-10 in Sulphur, and continued progress on many important initiatives including drainage planning, wastewater planning, and road overlay improvements.

Mr. Farnum represents Police Jury District 15, and Mr. Scott represents Police Jury District 6.

Members of the Police Jury are as follows:

District 1                                             Shannon Spell                        2nd Term
District 2                                             James Mayo                            1st Term
District 3                                             Elizabeth Griffin                     5th Term
District 4                                             Tony Guillory                         2nd Term
District 5                                             Nic Hunter                             1st Term
District 6                                             Dennis Scott                           2nd Term
District 7                                             Chris Landry                          4th Term
District 8                                             Guy Brame                             3rd Term
District 9                                             Kevin Guidry                         3rd Term
District 10                                           Tony Stelly                              3rd Term
District 11                                           Sandy Treme                         6th Term
District 12                                           Ray Taylor                              1st Term
District 13                                           Francis Andrepont                 6th Term
District 14                                           Hal McMillin                          4th Term
District 15                                           Les Farnum                            2nd Term

---Calcasieu Police Jury

Congrats to all the Police Jurors.   We know they will do a great job for us!